20 Questions: Nurturing Northern New York

Nutrition Program Manager at Cornell Cooperative Extension of Jefferson County April Bennett poses for a portrait inside the cooperative’s office kitchen in Watertown.

[Read more…]

June 2016: Agri-Business

JeffersonCountyAgriculture.com goes live

Jay Matteson

Jay Matteson

Mark D. Waterhouse, president of Garnet Consulting Services, Pleasant Valley, Conn., spoke at the Jefferson County Economic Development Forum on May 18. Mr. Waterhouse is recognized within the economic development community for his success in helping communities attract new development and grow existing business. During Mr. Waterhouse’s commentary, he discussed effective marketing techniques to attract new business. His remarks and the data he presented demonstrated the needs for improved efforts and support for some of the actions we’ve taken to improve our presence. [Read more…]

1844 House honored for local foods commitment

Courtesy 1844 House

Courtesy 1844 House

Brian and Jenny Walker, owners of the 1844 House, Potsdam, have received GardenShare’s 2013 Growing Community Award for their commitment to using locally produced food at the restaurant.

The Walkers, who re-opened the restaurant as a classic American bistro in 2006, received the award at the 2013 Harvest Social at SUNY Potsdam on Thursday, Nov. 7.

The award recognizes individuals and organizations that have strengthened the community-based food system through their efforts to use local foods.

“Their emphasis on fresh, local produce, meats and cheese helps them create incredible meals while at the same time building awareness of the amazing bounty of our region and boosting our local economy,” GardenShare said of the Walkers in a release.

Past recipients of the award include North Country Public Radio, North Country Grown Cooperative, the UShare program of Canton’s Unitarian Universalist Church, Katherine Lang, Betsy Hodge and Carlton Doane.

GardenShare is a nonprofit that works to combat hunger and improve food security in the north country. This is the 11th year it has given the award.